2022 Meetings

    Programming for the Division of Biochemical Technology (BIOT)
    263rd ACS National Meeting

    March 20 - 24th, 2022


    Bonding Through Chemistry 


    Program Chairs


    Danielle Tullman-Ercek, Northwestern University

    Nooshafarin Sanaie, Poseida Therapeutics


    2022 ACS Full Technical Program 

    2022 Program Book

    2022 Program Grid



    Poster Locations in Convention Center



    The Guidebook App is now Available!

    1. Download the guidebook app.
    2. Click "Find guide"
    3. Click "Have a passphrase?" and enter our passphrase: biot2022 (without any spaces). You should see the 2022 ACS BIOT appear.
    4. Or you can use this link or our QR code and enter passphrase biot2022 when prompted.
    Link: https://guidebook.com/g/#/guides/biot2022



    Networking Session Registration Now Open! - Panelists (Academic/Industry) and Students 


    New!!!!!! Design-A-Thon 

         Can you build a bioprocess....overnight?





    BIOT Meeting Location:

    Marriott Marquis, San Diego California 


    For Student Presenters

    W.H. Peterson Awards application Due March 10, 2022
    BIOT Student Travel Subsidy - N/A


    For Young (35 and Under) Professional

    Young Professionals Award in Upstream and Downstream Processing (sponsored by 3M)

    Applications due March 10, 2022


    Lunch and Learns 2022

         Cytiva - Monday 3/21

           BioRad - Tuesday 3/22

           3M - Wednesday 3/23


    2022 Keynote Speakers by Area

    Upstream Processes: Mary Dunlop
    Emerging Topics and Emerging Leaders: Konstantin Konstantinov
    Emerging Topics and Emerging Leaders: Rashmi Kshirsagar
    Biomedical Technologies: Elizabeth Cosgriff-Hernandez
    Integrated and Continuous Manufacturing: Lisa Connell-Crowley

    Big Data, Knowledge Management, and AI: Chris Petzold

    Biomolecular Engineering and Biophysical Processes: Jennifer Cochran, Scott Banta

    Downstream Processes: Nihal Tugcu

    Downstream Processes: Ruben Carbonell



    2022 Award Winners and Lectures

    David Perlman Memorial Lectureship (sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb)
    Jean Tom, Bristol Myers Squibb


    Marvin J. Johnson Award in Microbial and Biochemical Technology (sponsored by Pfizer, Inc.)
    Anne Robinson, Carnegie Mellon University


    Industrial Biotechnology Award
    Nedim Emil Altaras, Moderna Inc.


    BIOT Young Investigator Award (sponsored by Genentech, Inc.)
    Jose Avalos, Princeton University


    James M. Van Lanen Distinguished Service Award 
    Glen Bolton, Amgen


    Biotechnology & Bioengineering Gaden Award Lecture 
    Bernd Nidetzky, Graz University of Technology, Austria


    SBE/AIChE/ACS BIOT D.I.C. Daniel Wang Award
    Karen McDonald, University of California, Davis


    W.H. Peterson Best Student Oral Presentation at 2021 National Meeting
    Spenser Winchell-Brown, University of Alabama


    W.H. Peterson Best Student Poster Presentation at 2021 National Meeting
    Kabir Dhungra, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute



    2022 Program Areas (Area Coordinators)


    Upstream Processes: Tara Deans (University of Utah), Aditya Kunjapur (University of Delaware), Matt Rehmann (BMS)

    Downstream Processes: Elizabeth Goodrich (MilliporeSigma), Stefano Menegatti (North Carolina State University), Marcel Ottens (Delft University of Technology)


    Cell and Gene Therapy: Joshua Leonard (Northwestern University), Bruno Marques (Century Therapeutics)


    Biomedical Technologies: Mark Mimee (University of Chicago), Shannon Servoss (University of Arkansas), Rahul Sheth (BioMarin Pharmaceutical) 

    Biomolecular and Biophysical Processes: Maryam Raeeszadeh-Sarmazdeh (University of Nevada Reno), Laura Segatori (Rice University), Jennifer Tullman (Quantum-Si)

    Big Data Science Approaches: Hector Garcia-Martin (Lawrence Berkeley Natl Lab), David Roush (Merck), Kevin Solomon (University of Delaware)

    Integrated and Continuous Processing: Abraham Lenhoff (University of Delaware), Jennifer Pollard (Merck), David Wood (Ohio State University)

    Emerging Topics and Emerging Leaders in Biotech: Varnika Roy (GSK), Hadley Sikes (MIT), Peter Tessier (University of Michigan)

    BIOT Tank: Nigel Reuel, Jonathon Royce

    Poster Session: Nigel Reuel, Kristin Valente 


    BIOT Links

    BIOT History
    BIOT Awards History
    BIOT Division Site