2019 Meetings

    Programming for the Division of Biochemical Technology (BIOT)
    257th ACS National Meeting
    Orlando Florida, March 31 - April 4, 2019


    In addition to the traditional tracks of research talks (Upstream, Downstream, Biomedical, Biomolecular, End-to-End) we will have a Frontiers in BIOT Symposium, complete with panels and visionary talks. We will also host the popular BIOT Tank (Sunday afternoon), BIOT reception (Sunday night), poster session (Tuesday night), Networking Sessions, and award talks.


    Program Chairs

    Brian Pfleger - University of Wisconsin
    Jim Neville - MilliporeSigma


    ACS 2019 Meeting Links

    BIOT Call for Abstracts (pdf)

    Submit an Abstract (Closed)- Deadline 11/5/2018

    Submit an Abstract (Closed) to our co-sponsored session for the LGBTQ+ Graduate Student & Postdoctoral Scholar Symposium. Deadline 11/5/2018

    BIOT Meeting Program Book (pdf) - Download the App

    Directly navigate the BIOT Program here.

    BIOT Meeting Abstracts (pdf)

    BIOT Program Grid (pdf)




    BIOT Meeting Location:
    Rosen Centre Hotel located between the two main buildings of the Orlando Convention Center 


    Reserve your hotel room on the ACS Website: Click here.


    For Student Presenters

    W.H. Peterson Award - Applications due 3/15/2019 
    BIOT Student Travel Subsidy - Applications due 1/18/2019 (Closed)


    For Young (35 and Under) Professional

    Young Professionals Award in Upstream and Downstream Processing (sponsored by 3M)

    Applications due 3/28/2019 


    2019 Keynote Speakers by Area

    Upstream Processes: Kristala Prather, MIT
    Downstream Processes: Jon Coffman, Boehringer Ingelheim
    Biomolecular Technologies: Chris Jewell, University of Maryland
    Biomedical Technologies: Joanne Beck, Celgene
    End-to-End Biomanufacturing: Curran Simpson, REGENXBIO
    Emerging Frontiers in BIOT: Chris Voigt, MIT; Adam Arkin, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab; Kristi Budzinski, Roche Genentech


     2019 Award Winners and Lectures

    David Perlman Memorial Lectureship (sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb)
    Aine Hanley, Amgen


    Marvin J. Johnson Award in Microbial and Biochemical Technology (sponsored by Pfizer, Inc.)
    Kelvin Lee, University of Delaware


    EV Murphree Award
    Hariklia Deligianni, IBM Research


    Alan Michaels Award
    Andrew Zydney, Penn State University


    BIOT Young Investigator Award (sponsored by Genentech, Inc.)
    Michelle O'Malley, UC-Santa Barbara


    James M. Van Lanen Distinguished Service Award 


    Biotechnology & Bioengineering Gaden Award Lecture 
    Gregory Stephanopoulos, MIT


    Biotechnology & Bioengineering D.I.C. Daniel Wang Young Investigator Award 
    Tae Seok Moon, Washington University in St. Louis


    SBE/AIChE/ACS BIOT D.I.C. Daniel Wang Award


    3M Young Professional Award in Upstream and Downstream Processing
    Erin Baragar, Merck


    Peterson Best Student Oral Presentation at 2018 National Meeting
    Ashty Karim, Northwestern University


    W.H. Peterson Best Student Poster Presentation at 2018 National Meeting
    Julie Robinson, RPI



    2019 Program Areas (Area Coordinators)

    Upstream Processes: Pamela Peralta Yahya (Georgia Tech); Peter Russo (Merck); Cong Trinh (UTK)
    Downstream Processes: Srinivas Chollangi (Bristol-Myers); Mats Gruvegard (GE); Caryn Heldt (Michigan Tech)
    Biomolecular Technologies: Ben Hackel (Minnesota); Bruno Marques (GlaxoSmithKline)
    Biomedical Technologies: Rahul Sheth (Biomarin); Greg Thurber (Michigan); Matthew Westoby (Juno/Celgene)
    End-to-End Biomanufacturing: Jean Bender (Medimmune); Chris Love (MIT); Varnika Roy (GlaxoSmithKline)
    Frontiers in BIOT: Mark Blenner (Clemson); Carrie Eckert (CU Boulder); David Roush (Merck)
    BIOT Tank: Nitya Jacob (Amgen); Anne Kantardjieff (Bluebird Bio); Samet Yildirim (Boehringer Ingelheim) 
    BIOT Poster Session: Kevin Solomon (Purdue); Ian Wheeldon (UC-Riverside)



    BIOT Links

    BIOT History
    BIOT Awards History
    BIOT Division Site