2018 Meetings

    Programming for the Division of Biochemical Technology (BIOT)
    255th ACS National Meeting
    New Orleans Louisiana, March 18-22, 2018


    Program Chairs

    Maciek Antoniewicz, University of Delaware
    Nihal Tugcu, Merck


    ACS 2018 Meeting Links

    BIOT Call for Abstracts 

    Submit your Abstract (Open Until October 23, 2017)

    BIOT Meeting Program Book (Not Yet Available)

    BIOT Meeting Abstracts (Not Yet Available)

    Conference registration is not yet open. 

    BIOT Meeting Location: To Be Determined.

    Reserve your hotel room on the ACS Website (Not Yet Available).


    For Student Presenters

    W.H. Peterson Award - Applications due 02/28/18 (Not Yet Available)
    BIOT Student Travel Subsidy - Applications due 02/28/18 (Not Yet Available)


    For Young (35 and Under) Professional

    3M Award for Young Professionals - Applications due 02/28/18 (Not Yet Available)


    2018 Keynote Speakers by Area

    Upstream Processes: Dean Pettit (Just Biotherapeutics) and Hal Alper (UT Austin)
    Downstream Processes: Hari Pujar (Moderna Therapeutics) and Charles Haynes (University of British Columbia)
    Biomolecular & Biophysical Processes: Carolyn Bertozzi (Stanford) and Amy Keating (MIT)
    Biomedical & Emerging Technologies: Knut Niss (Mustang Bio) and Reed Clark (Dimension Therapeutics)
    End-to-End Biomanufacturing: Eliana Clark (Biogen) and Chris Love (MIT)


     2018 Award Winners and Lectures

    David Perlman Memorial Lectureship (sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb)
    Pamela Silver (Harvard)


    Marvin J. Johnson Award in Microbial and Biochemical Technology (sponsored by Pfizer, Inc.)
    Huimin Zhao (UIUC)


            Women's Chemists Committee Rising Star Award 
            Michelle O'Malley (UCSB)


    Alan Michaels Award


    BIOT Young Investigator Award (sponsored by Genentech, Inc.)
    Brian Pfleger (Wisconsin)


    James M. Van Lanen Distinguished Service Award 
    Anne Kantardjieff (Alexion)


    Biotechnology & Bioengineering Gaden Award Lecture 


    Biotechnology & Bioengineering D.I.C. Daniel Wang Young Investigator Award 


            SBE/AIChE/ACS BIOT D.I.C. Daniel Wang Award 


    Peterson Best Student Oral Presentation at 2017 National Meeting 
    Lisa Tostanoski (UMD College Park)


    W.H. Peterson Best Student Poster Presentation at 2017 National Meeting 
    Silvia Pirrung (TU Delft)



    2018 Program Areas (Area Coordinators)

    Upstream Processes: Brian Pfleger (UW Madison); Peter Russo (Merck); Rashmi Kshirsagar (Biogen)
    Downstream Processes: David Wood (Ohio State); Lars Pampel (Novartis); Nooshafarin Sanaie (Gilead)
    Biomolecular & Biophysical Processes: Pete Tessier (Michigan); Erinc Sahin (BMS)
    Biomedical & Emerging Technologies: April Kloxin (Delaware); John Pieracci (Biogen); Aaron Noyes (Codiak BioSciences)
    End-to-End Biomanufacturing: Sarah Harcum (Clemson); Venkatesh Natarajan (Biogen); Nitin Rathore (Amgen); Scott Tobler (Merck)
    BIOT Tank: Mike Lynch (Duke); Varnika Roy (GSK) 
    Food-Water-Energy Nexus: Sharon Shoemaker (UC Davis); Maciek Antoniewicz (Delaware)
    BIOT Poster Session: Mark Blenner (Clemson); Nigel Reuel (Iowa State)



    BIOT Links

    BIOT History
    BIOT Awards History
    BIOT Division Site